What should travel physical therapists be paid?

Just starting out as a traveler? Traveling questions or experiences to share? Here's the place.
Robertso010

What should travel physical therapists be paid?

Unread post by Robertso010 » Thu Jul 23, 2015 9:27 pm

I am a new grad and I am not certain what I should expect these companies to offer. I feel I was "low balled" a few times at the $20/ hour range. So my questions are:
1) what should a new grad expect hourly?
2) what should your pay increase look like with positive work experience?
3) what benefits should you expect, ie. housing weekly travel costs, can you expect car rental from companies, should these companies offer health insurance
4) how much money should these benefits offer

Hobohealth
Site Admin

Re: What should we be paid?

Unread post by Hobohealth » Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:30 am

I'll give you my quick answer here, but link to the two blogs below for a more thorough answer. The first link is specific to new grad pay, the second is just about pay in general.

And I would love the hear what other travel PTs are making, but I have talked with a few traveler friends about their rates over the years and I think my expectations of pay are pretty on-point.

Just don't think of hourly pay, think of the total package - per diem, housing stipend, all of that (typically health benefits are very good from agencies). Weekly take home after taxes shouldn't be below $1500/wk. As you gain experience, you might start getting contracts up to $1700 and $1800 per week. And, once you've got some experience, you can go searching for the assignments that really pay out around the $2000/wk range - but typically these assignments are in very rural places or there's some other reason they are willing to pay that much. Always negotiate, the pay system is more flexible than some recruiters may let on at first.