OT/PT couple interested in traveling

Just starting out as a traveler? Traveling questions or experiences to share? Here's the place.
Stevefell1983

OT/PT couple interested in traveling

Unread post by Stevefell1983 » Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:18 pm

What's up everyone! I was curious if anyone has had experience traveling as a team (Husband/Wife OT/PT)? We both have 2 years experience and our ready for a adventure and knocking out student loans. Any insight would be appreciated!! Thanks again!

Hobohealth
Site Admin

Re: OT/PT couple interested in traveling

Unread post by Hobohealth » Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:15 am

Steve,

Glad you wrote here.

My wife and I have been traveling together for 6 years now as PTs. We typically set a place we'd like to live and then a 45-60 minute commute radius around it and don't typically have trouble finding jobs. We work in the same facility sometimes (which is fine, but not optimal), or for the same hospital system but not directly together, or it's best for us when we find two totally separate jobs in the same area.

I think right now, we are seeing a little dip in the market for travelers in some localized areas. So, while people needing one job are fairly well able to go where they want with a little patience, travel teams looking for two jobs are having a little harder time in localized areas. But, I do have to stress that I think these areas are localized and there are many great travel positions out there around most major cities, in very rural areas, and certain regions of the country (I think the Northwest travel market has stayed pretty strong).

I say go for it!!! My wife and I love it and can't picture doing anything else with our lives at this point. I definitely recommend getting into it if you have any urge.

Feel free to write more questions on here. I know a few other travel couples that I'll try to push towards this post to see if we can get some more perspectives.

James

ehudgin1