Current DPT Student considering Traveling PT

Just starting out as a traveler? Traveling questions or experiences to share? Here's the place.
VicHut

Current DPT Student considering Traveling PT

Unread post by VicHut » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:23 am

Hello! I am a current PT student, set to graduate August 2020. I have been considering traveling PT for awhile now, I really enjoy traveling and quite honestly not completely sure where I want to settle down after graduation. I am pretty open to working in all settings, I am trying my best to get rotations in a variety of different settings for experience and to get a feel for what I like best. So far I have worked in a SNF, wound care facility, Home health, and my rotations are set for a larger hospital, peds clinic, and sports clinic. After talking with faculty mentors and CI mentors, my plan following graduation is to work at a bigger hospital where I can get a variety of experience until January/ February (so about 5-6 months of experience with other more experienced PTs). I have multiple questions about traveling PT, I apologize if these questions are redundant or basic I have just begun exploring traveling options.
1. First, I am not really sure where to start. I was fortunate to talk to several agencies at CSM this year, but how do I go about deciding which agency is a best fit for me? What does it mean to work with multiple agencies?
2. Is 6 months experience enough to being traveling?
3. I have a dog and would like to go the RV or tiny home route. Which is would be more realistic? Is it hard to find places to set tiny home?
4. My ultimate goal would be to do missionary PT, is this something I would still be able to do between traveling?
5.Would I still be able to work a variety of settings until I find an area that fits me best?
Thanks!

Hobohealth
Site Admin

Re: Current DPT Student considering Traveling PT

Unread post by Hobohealth » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:08 pm