PTA travelers?

Just starting out as a traveler? Traveling questions or experiences to share? Here's the place.
Timberline

PTA travelers?

Unread post by Timberline » Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:53 pm

I will be starting a travel career next year, yay! :D I'm already applying for my licensures, as I do like to plan ahead.

I was hoping to connect with some PTA travelers on here, or if any of you PT's have this information, it would be much appreciated! I have two big questions, as this site has answered so many other questions already. BTW, this site is awesome. I can't thank you enough for the great resource.

1). What can a traveling PTA expect to make? I see lots of good advice here for PT salary, but I haven't seen much for PTA's. I have 5 years experience in outpatient, subacute rehab and SNF's. I understand salaries vary according to location and population, and that there are some negotiables, but I'm curious as to what a baseline might be. Like the rest of you, I don't want to undersell myself getting into the game.

2).If most PT's expect to be placed within 2-4 weeks of looking for a job, is this timeline similar for PTA's? Are there more, less or the same amount of positions to be filled as PT's?

Thanks for any information you can share.

Hobohealth
Site Admin

Re: PTA travelers?

Unread post by Hobohealth » Fri Feb 10, 2017 10:46 pm

As for question 2, I would say the timeline is similar for PTAs. Not to say that you couldn't find an assignment further out under the right circumstances - it is just more common to find jobs on a short timeline.

For questions 1, I honestly have no idea... let me see what I can stir up from PTAs and COTAs over the next couple days to see if I can get an answer (fingers crossed).

So glad you have found the site helpful, makes me happy.

James

Timberline

Unread post by Timberline » Sat Feb 11, 2017 10:10 pm

Thanks so much James! I look forward to any other PTA specific information you might stumble upon.